Hidden treasures of Karabagh
First day: Yerevan-Tatev monastery-Goris /with overnight stay/
Tatev monastery in the bibliographical sources is also met with a name of Apostle St. Yevsthaddeus’ vow; it is situated in the south of the village Tatev, on the right bank of the river Vorotan. According to Stepanos Orbelyan the first church of Tatev has been built in the IV century. Here have been brought the silver giant “Cross of Babkenian” (made by the son of the king Babik Vasak) made from the cross- wood of Jesus, the remains of 11 Apostles, St. Gregory the Illuminator, St. Hripsime, the hairs of Mother of God, “St. Nshan” from Byzantine.
Goris is founded in 1870 as the center of the province Zangezur of the Elizavetpol state. It has got a town statement in 1885 by the Russian Empire. The city has population of 25.000 (2012) and is situated on the height of 1370m. It has 24 villages. The nature is beautiful, air is fresh, the climate is temperate mountainous with mild winters and warm summers. Sunshine annual length is 2100 hours, days without sun are 59. The middle temperature in January is -1,3 °C, in July-19°C. Annual precipitations form 770mm. The town is situated on strategically important Yerevan-Stepanakert highway.
Second day: Goris-Shushi-Stepanakert /with overnight stay/
Shushi has been a natural inaccessible fortress in Varanda province. There are many ancient tombs around the town; there has been excavated khachkars and pottery of the 9-12th centuries. St. Ghazanchetsots church is the ornament of Shushi built in 1868-1887. It is formed from the church and belfry. Here is situated the spiritual center and leader residence of the eparchy of Artsakh of the Armenian Apostolic Church.
The population of Stepanakert is 50.000. It is the administrative, cultural and economical center of the country. It is named in honor of Stepan Shahumyan. The designed and construction plan has been worked out by Aleksander Tamanyan. Afterwards there have been other plans, but the plan of Tamanyan is preserved.
Third day: Stepanakert-Tigranakert-Gandzasar-Dadivank-Yerevan
The capital has been built in 70-s and named Tigranakert after a strong armenian king. In order to settle the capital the king Tigran II moved the population of the captured countries to Armenia. According to the greek historian Apianos 300 thousand people moved to Armenian from Kapadovkia, 100 thousand from Cilicia. Of course, these people were settled not only in Tigranakert but in Artashat, Armavir, Yervandashat, Van and other cities.
Gandzasar is one of the monastical complexes of Artsakh situated near the village Vank of Mardakert region. It has taken the name of the hill in front of the village Vank, in the lithosphere of which there are mines of silver and other materials. By the care of Hasan-Dzalalyan dynasty Gandzasar preserved its role of spiritual center. The monastery used to have a manuscript halls and schools where have been created high quality manuscripts, used to study spiritual workers, who had their fund in the cultural and mental life development of Khacheni and the adjecnt regions.
Dadivank (Khutavank) has been the religious and cultural center of the province Khachen of Artsakh region. It is situated in Shahumyan region on the left bank of the river Tartar (Trtu), on the slope of forest covered mountain. It has been founded in the place of the tomb of Dadi martyred for Christian proclamation in the 1st century, A.D. The monastery has been destroyed during arab conquests. It has a role of a fortress during Seljuk attacks. The retained by now buildings of the complex are dating to the XII-XIII centuries. Katoghike has been built by the wife of Vakhtang Arzukhatun in 1214. It is a building with rectangular plan, crosswise and with wall-paintings from inside (now mostly dilapidated). In the west side there is the belfry and column hall. In the niche of the belfry there are 2 khachkars erected by the monastery leader Atanas in 1283.
The package price includes:
We accept group orders.
The price of the tour packages depend on the group size.